Tracey’s Angle- How You Can Beat The Competition

July 16, 2010 at 10:18 am Leave a comment

   

It's me!

 

Hey all, 

Freshman year is supposed to be full of discovery, excitement, and exposure. Meeting new people, soaking in all of the lectures that you can, and living life without as much parental control–so exciting! But what about job experience? Sure, you may take on a part-time campus job, but think of how much more productive you could be if you spent the same amount of hours you spend at that part-time job doing an internship. How great would it look to have an internship already on your resume? 

My current internship, here at internships.com, is my third. I had my first internship during my freshman year. Now I know you’re probably thinking… 

“Why would I want an internship so early on in college?” 

“Isn’t an internship a lot of work and responsibility to handle as a freshman?” 

“Most employers want someone who is really experienced…I am definitely under qualified!” 

All of the above are possibilities, don’t get me wrong, but think about how great it would be if an internship did work out for you early in your college career. Having an internship early allows you to gain experience before the majority of your peers. Plus, you never know until you try.  The job market is only getting more and more competitive, which means that for every internship you want, there are probably hundreds of other kids who are interested in the position as well.  Having the internship on your resume makes you a far more competitive candidate when applying for future internships and full-time jobs. 

One thing I highly recommend is to request college credit right away. I actually didn’t do this during my internship in my spring semester of freshman year and I regretted it. I put off getting the papers signed by my supervisor all semester long, and missed out on the opportunity. College credit for completing your internship gives you something else to show for all of your hard work, and can be a requirement at many colleges and universities. 

So calling all freshman…get ahead of the game, and rise above the competition by completing your first internship during your freshman year! 

Hope this inspires all the interns out there. 

Adios,       

Tracey L.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Tracey’s Angle- Start your search for a fall internship Sweet Tweets

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About This Blog

"Eye of the Intern" is a blog written by a variety of interns, students, employers, and Internships.com Team Members.

Whether you already have an internship, are looking for one, or just need something to read while having lunch - this blog covers it all.

Archives

Internships.com on Facebook